To understand about fl insurance requirements for drivers, it is helpful to have an overview of the basics starting from the license. Driver’s license can be obtained with the minimum age of 15. The State of Florida, like other states in the US, devised a graduated driver’s license system for teenage drivers. There are restrictions added, which are intended to reduce the high risks of accidents and requires supervision of an individual older than 21 to the new driver. The precautions include the restriction of driving only during daylight for the first 90 days.
They will acquire the learner license and will undergo two forms of identification, either primary or secondary. The driver must complete a course on Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education. For teenage drivers, a parental consent form or a notarized copy of the consent form, in case the parents are not present, should be submitted during application together with the Social Security Number. The learner license will only be approved to change into an operator license after one year of having a learner license without a violation. These are only given to drivers with a minimum age of 16. The supervision and the time restrictions will not be required after turning 18. After obtaining the license, the next requirement is an fl insurance.
The State of Florida requires a SR22 or FR44 insurance because a SR22 is a certified proof of liability insurance from a licensed fl insurance company. An FR44 is required if the owner of the vehicle or the driver has been involved in an alcohol related incident or offense.
The minimum fl insurance requirements for drivers in Florida are $10,000 worth for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 worth for Property Damage Liability (PDL). A vehicle will only maintain a Florida tag if the vehicle has automobile insurance. Not meeting the minimum requirements or level for automobile insurances allows the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Department to suspend driving privileges which include suspension of the vehicle tag and registration.
A Personal Injury Protection insurance purpose is to cover the driver regardless of what caused the accident. On the other hand, the Property Damage Liability insurance covers the damages incurred by the driver or the family members to other people’s property in a crash with a motor vehicle. The PIP insurance also covers family members, children, and passengers who do not own a vehicle. Passengers who have their PIP will receive coverage from their own PIP. Luckily, it also covers children who might incur an injury while riding a school bus. The PIP insurance also protects and provides coverage when riding someone else’s vehicles, when obtaining an injury as a pedestrian, or a bicyclist in case of a motor vehicle collision. The State of Florida requires the driver to maintain both the PIP and PDL insurance continuously during licensing and registration period.
The minimum required insurance must be issued by an agent together with an fl insurance company licensed to sell it in Florida. Previous policies issued in a driver’s previous state of residence are advised to be stopped. However, the driver can ask the agent to transfer the previous insurance to Florida when the vehicle is undergoing registration in Florida.
Most Recent Articles
7 Tips To Remember For Florida Insurance
Buying insurance is the priority of many people. Many individuals buy insurance for securing their life, property, health etc. Insurance buying is the method that provides the secu...
Great Advice For Driver Insurance
For making one’s life more secure and protective insurance companies have provided number of different insurance packages, depending on these insurance packages one is able to draw a d...