Every State in the US has its varying laws on car insurance. The same case applies for Massachusetts car insurance laws. The laws in Massachusetts might have some slight variation from those in other states.
Car insurance laws have been in existence for a very long time. These laws are different from one country to the other. These laws are applied to all types of vehicles on the road. They cover tracks, cars and even motorcycles. The laws on Massachusetts car insurance also follow the same trend. These laws are mainly meant to control the number of accidents as well as the costs involved.
In most cases, there are the set minimum amounts of liability insurance. Laws on Massachusetts car insurance require that a person purchases the minimum liability insurance when registering their car. These minimum liability insurance amounts must be carried in the State and apply in cases of car accidents. They are set at $20,000 for every person’s bodily injury, $40,000 for bodily injury of all persons and $5,000 for property damage and destruction. Massachusetts car insurance laws differ from those in other states as the minimum liability insurance also contains a personal injury protection set at $8,000. This is meant for medical expenses and wages loss.
Rather than owner car drivers, the laws on Massachusetts car insurance also require rental car drivers to have the minimum liability coverage. In most cases, car insurance policies in the state cover rental cars. Therefore, every driver in the state of Massachusetts must check whether their auto insurance covers car rental. If not, car rental insurance can be purchased whereby Massachusetts car insurance laws set the limits between $7 and $14 on daily basis.
A deviation from most states, Massachusetts car insurance laws does not require the uninsured motorist coverage. This is coverage purchased additionally to the minimum amounts in most cases. When a driver has the State’s minimum amounts, it is nit necessary to carry the uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage.
It is compulsory for every driver to have their Massachusetts car insurance. When a driver has no proper auto insurance, there are very strict penalties to face. These penalties include fines that range between $500 and $5,000. One could also be jailed for a period of more than one year and sometimes serve both the fine and jail term. The penalties also involve suspension of driver’s license for a period of not less than 60 days or losing it. The registration and car tags could also be suspended.
The best thing with Massachusetts State is its operation policy. Rather than the harsh Tort system states, Massachusetts operates under the No Fault policy. This means that Massachusetts car insurance companies are responsible in paying all injuries experienced in an accident. This does not matter whether one is at fault or not.
Tips and comments
It is healthy to note that the minimum liability with Massachusetts car insurance required by the state is quite low. To be on the safer side, Massachusetts drivers ought to purchase higher amounts as well as other car insurance coverage. Such additional coverage includes the comprehensive and collision coverage.