Every state in the US is governed by different laws in car insurance. These laws vary from one state to the other as well as the penalties. Ga car insurance laws are also different in their settings.
In almost every part of the world, auto insurance is a great requirement for every driver. This kind of insurance has been in existence over many years. The duration for car insurance existence is likely the same as that of vehicles. States in the US are governed by different laws on car insurance. For ga car insurance, the same thing applies and the state follows the Tort system.
To begin with, ga car insurance covers the minimum liability levels. This liability coverage must be carried by every driver in the state of Georgia. The minimum set levels for liability coverage are $25,000 for bodily injury of every person in an accident, $50,000 bodily injury for two or more people and $25,000 for property damage per every accident.
There are various exceptions for carrying ga car insurance laws. The most applicable exemptions apply if the owner moves to another state, termination of vehicle lease and transfer of vehicle ownership. Other areas in which the law applies are for repossessed, stolen salvaged or junked vehicles.
In order to satisfy the laws on ga car insurance, every car is supposed to have the minimum coverage levels. This is the same for Georgia rental cars. The companies providing these services are supposed to offer the required liability insurance amount by the state. This is also covered in the insurance policy and credit cards. For this case, drivers must check with their credit cards and ga car insurance policies. In case liability insurance is not provided, then a person must purchase it from the rental car company. The range for car rental liability insurance is from $7 to $14 per every day.
Ga car insurance laws do not require the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Purchasing the personal injury protection is also not required. These coverage types are though added by some motorists to enhance their safety.
The other law on ga car insurance applies on not having the prior insurance. In Georgia State, the penalties for allowing the insurance to lapse are a bit hostile. The lapse is given a period of ten or more days. When one has no insurance within this time, then the penalties apply. There are fines set for this misconduct and include $25 as lapse fee additionally to $60 as reinstatement fees.
Ga car insurance laws on insurance lapse apply for first, second to third offences. For the second and third offences, a driver faces increased fees of up to $160 reinstatement fees. This could also lead to suspension of the vehicle’s registration. When caught driving with suspended registration, ga car insurance laws charge drivers with a misdemeanor.
The last question that most people ask is whether the state is a Tort or No Fault State. Georgia is ruled by the Tort system. This is the system that doesn't require drivers to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist as well as the personal injury protection. With the Tort system, drivers found at fault have a lot to face. Ga car insurance laws state that at fault driver is responsible for any damages caused in the accident.