Va car insurance laws have some slight differences compared to those in other states. This is in terms of the state’s minimums as well as penalties. Other variations of Virginia car insurance laws from the others include the coverage as well as being a Tort state.
Road accidents are common in every region. These are like natural catastrophes that are hard to control. For this case, vehicle insurance is mainly present to offer financial protection. The laws on va car insurance are set to provide protection against bodily injury and damage on property.
The very first law on va car insurance involves the minimum liability insurance. The limits for liability insurance vary from state to the other. In the state of Virginia, the minimum requirements for liability insurance are $25,000 for death or bodily injury of one person in an accident, $50,000 for bodily coverage or death of more than one person. The minimum va car insurance levels for property damage is set at $20,000. For the minimum requirements, va car insurance laws state that drivers must carry them when purchasing decals or license plates. In case a driver does not have these requirements, then they have to pay a fee of $500 for the uninsured motor vehicle. With the uninsured motor vehicle, UMV a person may drive uninsured vehicles at their own risk. This is because the UMV does not provide any va car insurance coverage. The proof of insurance is the other factor whereby va car insurance laws apply. The laws require that every driver in Virginia to carry either the proof of insurance or that of uninsured motor vehicle. If caught without any of the two proofs, then a driver risks suspension of their driving rights on vehicle registration. This is then followed by a reinstatement fee of $500 and filing a 3 year certificate for financial responsibility insurance.
The law driving any vehicle without proof of va car insurance applies to rental cars as well. The same applies for the proof of uninsured motor vehicle being paid. As in other states, most credit cards and va car insurance policies include car rentals. If a person finds rental cars not covered by their policy or credit card, then they should purchase it from the car rental companies. The state of Virginia follows the Tort system of insurance. This means that va car insurance laws must find an at fault driver in case of an accident. The driver at fault is thus responsible for all accident damages on property. For this case, the insurance company for driver at fault pays for any damage caused. This way, va car insurance companies recommend drivers to purchase higher coverage than those set by the state.
Being a tort state, va car insurance laws don’t require drivers to purchase the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Though this is the case, most drivers end up carrying this coverage for their safety. Virginia vehicle insurance companies also advise drivers to carry it. If va car insurance lapses during registration period, then a driver must re-insure the car or pay the UMV fee. One can also opt to surrendering the license plates to the Virginia department of motor vehicle.