Car insurance is a very vital requirement for drivers. This applies in all states and countries from all regions of the world. The laws applied are though different from one place to the other. az car insurance laws are also set in a different way from those in other states.
Car insurance laws were developed some years after the invention of vehicles. These laws were mainly applied to monitor road accidents and driver’s misconducts. Az car insurance laws are also set to monitor the same. They involve relevant requirements and penalties for not meeting them. Through the states in US, each is governed by either the No Fault System or the Tort system
Every state in the US has its set minimum levels of liability insurance. The laws on az car insurance require drivers to meet the minimum levels. These levels are set at $15,000 for death or bodily injury of a single person in an accident, $30,000 for death or injury of more than one person and $10,000 for overall property damage. When a person buys az car insurance, then the policy must cover these minimum liability levels.
As a distinction from other states, az car insurance laws also require motorcycles, golf carts and mopeds to carry the least minimum coverage levels. All these are considered as any other vehicle in Arizona, thus require coverage.
The Arizona coverage does not exclude the rental cars. The laws on az car insurance require that all vehicles operated on the highways to have insurance coverage. For this matter, most insurance policies and credit cards in Arizona cover rental cars. As the case applies, one should purchase this car rental insurance coverage from the car rental company it is not covered in the credit card or az car insurance policy.
The state of Arizona follows the Tort system. With this system, a driver must be found responsible for any accident. This is what makes producing az car insurance a vital requirement. When a driver is found at fault, then they are the one to cater for all damages caused in the accident. The insurance company for at fault driver thus pays for all damage caused. This is why most insurance companies in Arizona recommend drivers to purchase higher coverage than the minimum levels.
For the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, the laws require that every az car insurance company to offer the coverage. Since this is the case, most drivers stand in a better position when found at fault. The uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage provides protection in case the car insurance coverage is not enough.
The other bit or az car insurance laws applies on penalties. In Arizona, penalties are mostly applied when a driver lets their insurance lapse. The penalties include paying for reinstatement fees and obtaining new car insurance policy.
On failure to produce proof of financial responsibility to an officer, the penalties are usually charged in cash. For the first offence, a fine of $500 applies in addition to driver’s license suspension as well as the plates and registration. Second offence is charged with a $750 fine as well as six months suspension of plates, driver’s license and registration. The thirds time violation experiences high fines of $1,000 and one year suspension of the driving license, plates and registration.