The basics of Kansas car insurance are very easy to comprehend. These basics are to guide drivers in Kansas on how to go about their insurance. This is in terms of the State’s requirements and coverages. In simple terms, Kansas car insurance follows some laws provided by the State.
Vehicle accidents can happen anytime at any place. For this case, vehicle insurance was developed many years ago to provide financial protection during such incidents. The protection provided by this insurance is mainly on damage, bodily injury or death of people. Kansas car insurance basics are there to guide vehicle drivers on how to go about auto insurance.
To begin with, Kansas car insurance basics take into account the application process. Just like many auto insurance companies do, those in Kansas consider various factors that involve the person applying such as their driving records, age, gender in addition to the vehicle’s model and make. These companies in turn offer premium quotes that are based on these factors.
Kansas car liability insurance is another basic to consider. Through many states, there are set minimum limits for liability insurance. This kind of insurance is used to cover damages caused to other people in an accident. This applies when to the driver responsible for the accident. One thing to note with liability coverage is that it does not cover damages to the driver responsible.
The minimum liability levels with Kansas car insurance are set at $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a single person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons and $10,000 for property damage in an accident. The Kansas car liability insurance basically provides coverage for medical expenses, lost wages and funeral expenses among others.
There are still other coverages required by Kansas car insurance. The most common one is the uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. This insurance coverage comes in place when a driver lacks enough insurance to pay the damages. For this case, all drivers in Kansas are supposed to carry the minimum uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage levels.
The other basic requirement with Kansas car insurance is the Personal Injury Protection, PIP insurance. It is mandatory for every driver in the state to carry the PIP insurance. This insurance pays for a driver’s medical expenses as well as for the passengers in case of an accident. With the Personal Injury Protection, the medical bills are met fast thus making PIP insurance the fast paying. For this case, it is for Kansas car drivers to determine the amount of PIP insurance to carry.
The minimum levels set by the state for PIP insurance are $4,500 for medical expenses of every person, $25 for in home services on daily basis and $900 per month for one year lost wages. Rehabilitation expenses are also set at $4,500 and $2,000 for expenses in funeral.
These are the basic Kansas car insurance requirements that every driver should consider. This is in order to be on the safe side when an accident occurs. It is good to understand that there are penalties and consequences for not carrying enough vehicle insurance in Kansas.