Auto insurance is very important when it comes to accidents. This is applied in most countries worldwide. There are various laws applied on MO car insurance. These laws are to be followed by all drivers in the State of Missouri. There are also set penalties for violating the laws.
Car insurance laws were developed many years ago. The main aim of developing these laws was to protect people from injuries or damage and other factors. The same has been in practice over the years. These laws though differ from one state to another. With MO car insurance laws, there are various set laws which govern this type of insurance.
The uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage is also vital in Missouri. The laws on Mo car insurance set this at $25,000 / $50,000. This is meant for bodily injury coverage in case of an accident. All drivers are thus required to carry the uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage to be on the safer side.
In case one wants to register their vehicle, then they must produce proof of financial responsibility. The financial responsibility is simply provided in form of an identification card with current MO car insurance. This can also be provided in terms of auto liability insurance binder. A receipt that indicates the policy information can as well be used as proof of financial responsibility.
Mo car insurance laws require that all drivers carry their insurance all times on the road. This is because there are penalties involved with violating the law. If a driver is caught with no MO car insurance, then their license is suspended, and the duration could extend to one year. A reinstatement fee is also paid, and one should provide three-year proof of insurance.
The laws on MO car insurance also state that it is illegal to operate any vehicle with no insurance. The same case applies to car rentals, which must carry the State’s minimum liability coverage. As with many states, rental cars are covered in credit cards and most MO car insurance policies. If rental cars are not covered by the insurance policy or credit card, then a person must purchase rental-car insurance from car rental companies. This insurance is provided at an extra fee of $7 to $14 per day.
The state of Missouri also follows the Tort system. With this system, the laws on MO car insurance require that someone must be found responsible for an accident. The driver is termed as At Fault and their insurance company is responsible for all damages caused. Because of the tort system, auto insurance companies in Missouri State advise drivers to purchase higher coverage’s than the minimum liability levels.