Baltimore, in Maryland has its related laws governing car insurance. Just like in other states, Baltimore car insurance laws differ in terms of coverage, minimums and penalties. They are though the same as car insurance laws in Maryland.
Car insurance is very vital requirement for car drivers. This is because it is of great help to drivers in case of accidents. In the US, states are ruled by two car insurance principles, the Tort and No-Fault systems. Since Maryland follows the Tort system, Baltimore car insurance is thus governed by the Tort system.
Since accidents are very common cases, Baltimore car insurance laws have the minimum set levels of liability. These minimum liability levels are set at $20,000 bodily injury of every person involved in an accident, $40,000 bodily injury per accident and $15,000 per accident for property damage. Every driver in Baltimore must carry this minimum coverage to be on the safer side. This is met when a driver is buying the Baltimore car insurance.
Operating any vehicle without insurance is illegal in Baltimore. This implies that even the rental car drivers must have Baltimore car insurance. This is by carrying the minimum liability coverage as set by car insurance laws in Baltimore. Most auto insurance policies in Baltimore thus cover car rentals. For his case, every driver should check on their Baltimore car insurance policy when purchasing. Additionally, credit cards also cover car rentals and thus should be checked on as well.
The other car insurance laws are mostly imposed on the underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. With Baltimore car insurance, this coverage is not necessary. This is covered in the minimum liability coverage purchased. Since this is the case, drivers should thus purchase higher liability levels than the minimum levels. This makes one stand a good position.
The other law on Baltimore car insurance is having prior insurance. Is a driver allows their insurance to lapse; there are the penalties for it. With this condition, a driver is considered as an uninsured motorist. For this case, they risk losing their vehicle registration as well as license plates. This is accompanied by paying uninsured motorist fees. For every lapse, the driver pays $150 for the first thirty days. This is then followed by $7 for every day after the 30 day period. In addition, Baltimore car insurance laws require drivers to pay a restoration fee for registration of the vehicle amounting to $25.
Other penalties for lapse of Baltimore car insurance include being limited from registration of any vehicles in future. This is only permitted when one clears all violations. The other penalty involves meeting fines that go up to $1,000 or imprisonment for a whole year.
Finally, Baltimore car insurance laws are under the Tort system. This system implies that someone must be responsible for any accident that occurs. This is the person considered as at fault and is liable for all damages caused. This makes Baltimore car insurance laws much harsh for drivers at fault. For this case, car insurance companies in Baltimore advice drivers to consider higher coverage than the minimum liability.
Most Recent Articles
What You Need To Know About Free Insurance Car Quotes
Insurance has played a major role in our life and it will continue to be a helping hand throughout our life. These days there are various kinds of insurance organizations and company offerin...
What Are the Best Rental Car Companies?
Many cities across the world struggle to come up with adequate policies to streamline public transport. It is often unreliable, slow, noisy, dirty and overcrowded. This is however debatable ...
About Insurance Center
Insurance Center, Inc. is an insurance company in Texas. The company has been in business for fifty years and they have three locations to server their customers needs. They are located in K...